Thursday, July 18, 2013

Live Recording: Dunluce Castle, Antrim, Northern Ireland (06/18/13)

van morrison dunluce 2013

Van Morrison
Dunluce Castle
Antrim, North Ireland

Sweet Thing (Shana Morrison)
He Won't Send Roses (Shana Morrison)
It Serves Me Right To Suffer (Shana Morrison)
Celtic Swing
Only A Dream
Precious Time
Whenever God Shines His Light
Baby Please Don't Go
Days Like This
Retreat And View
Sometimes We Cry
Old Black Magic
Blues Medley
Hoochie Coochie Man > Stand By Me
Star Of The County Down
Jackie Wilson Said
Brown Eyed Girl

Jazz Blues & Co has the MP3s for download.

A Spawn of the Dublin Pubs



A Spawn of the Dublin Pubs
(bootleg vinyl LP) Trademark of Quality (no number) Side A

  1. Saint Dominic's Preview
  2. These Dreams Of You
  3. The Way Young Lovers Do
  4. Bad Man Looking For A Fight
  5. More And More
  6. Listen To The Lion

  Side B
  1. Domino
  2. Warm Love
  3. Caravan
  4. Cypress Avenue

All of side A and "Warm Love" from side B recorded on May 24, 1973. The other three tracks come from May 27, 1973. No venue mentioned but apparently it was the Troubadour Club, Los Angeles. Appears to have been printed/pressed in at least two variants (sleeves shown above) with the variant at top suspected as being the earliest. On that variant, the image is on a standard 8 1/2 by 11 sheet glued in the center of a light blue album cover.

Sleeve Note (from variant 2 pressing):
"Van Morrison is too important and rewarding an artist to miss. He's as exciting a performer as we have in contemporary music. His excitement comes from the intensity of his performance. When you see him struggle on stage to achieve his own sense of perfection, you can understand the drive that is behind his creativity. There were moments during his show that he hit the peak and you could wish that everyone who had ever been moved emotionally by music could be on hand to share the excitement. - L.A. Times"

Bootleg: Van Morrison - A Sense of Blue

van morrison a sense of blue

A Sense Of Blue
(bootleg vinyl LP)
No label number - blue vinyl

Side A
Mr. Thomas (4:35) - Mannheim 2-16-84
What Would I Do (4:50) - London 6-9-84
You Don't Know Me (3:40) - London 6-9-84)
Tore Down a la Rimbaud (3:40) - Cardiff 10-14-84
A Sense of Wonder (7:10) - Cardiff 10-14-84

Side B
Boffyflow and Spike (2:45) - Cardiff 10-14-84
Ancient of Days (3:15) - Cardiff 10-14-84
A New Kind of Man (3.15) - Cardiff 10-14-84
The Master's Eyes (4:00) - Belfast 10-20-84
If You Only Knew (2:20) - Dusseldorf 2-14-84
Thank God for Self-Love (3:30) - London 6-9-84
Crazy Jane on God (studio-outtake for A Sense Of Wonder)

All live tracks are as noted.

Source: Diana De Roo

Additional notes: "Crazy Jane On God" appeared on test pressings of the A Sense Of Wonder album. It had to be removed from the final released version of the album because permission had not been obtained from the W. B. Yeats estate for the use of the poet's lyrics. This track is scheduled to appear on The Philosophers Stone presumably because Yeats' work is soon out of copyright (in 1999).